museum was founded in 1977 to expose the shell collection of Tiziano and
Vincenzo Consigniani to the puplic.The museum took its first steps in
the temporary seats and in different italian cities with the show
organisation as well as
in the schools of Cupra Marittima with an institution
of didactical museum. Since 1988 the museum has beenn the via
Nord 240. The museum itself is 3000 m
large and besides the exhibition there is also congres room for 200
persons, auditory for 80 students, audiovisual hall for 50 persons,
library, laboratory for the shell indentification and photographing, shop
and malagological ceramic tile exhibition.
In the museum area there is a secured videocontrol. The total
lenght of the glass showcases, from which 460 are illuminated, is 1800 m.
Besides 1 million shells in th exhibition, there are over 9 million
shells conservated for the research and studies. The museums
parking lot is large and the show is situated in the neighbourhood of all
the services (restaurants, hotels, campings).